The purpose of the SMACKOBA  Awards is to recognise old students and staff, past and present, dead or alive, who have made significant achievements in society, and whose accomplishments, affiliations and careers have honoured the St Mary’s College core values of: honesty and integrity, innovation, respect for human dignity, Christ-centered holistic formation, and excellence.

1. Service to St Mary’s College Community.

Dr. Peregrine Kibuuka
2007 — Rev. Fr. Lawrence Kanyike.
2016 — Mr. Gerald Muguluma

2. Service to Country.

Emmanuel Katongole
2016 — Mr. Thomas Kawere

3. Service to Society.

Prof. Virginio Lachara Ongom
2007 — Mr. Lugoloobi
2016 — Dr. Livingston Ssewanyana

4. Service/Achievement in one’s calling in the Arts and Humanities.

Justice John Bosco Katutsi
2007 — Mr. Leo Kibirango
2016 — Prof. Austin Bukenya

5. Service/Achievement in one’s calling in the Sciences.

Dr. Amos Nyathirombo
2016 — Prof. Nelson Ssewankambo

6. SMACKOBA President’s Award

Dr. Francis Mangeni
2016 — Mr. Anthony Natif

Other than the SMACKOBA President’s Award which is entirely up to the discretion of the SAMCKOBA President, that is, neither the SMACKOBA fraternity nor the Awards Committee has any say in it, a winner of a SMACKOBA Award will have been nominated by a subscribed member of SMACKOBA . The nomination will be sent to the Awards Committee accompanied by two (2) reasons for the nomination. The Awards Committee selects the awardee by consensus.